Chocolate Cupcakes

14 08 2008

I almost didn’t make these because they sound pretty weird, but trust me these are excellent. They are moist and dense and even my non gluten-free and non vegan friends loved them!

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups all-purpose gf flour
3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (check for soy + dairy free)
1 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp salt
1 avocado, pitted and peeled
1 cup pure maple syrup
3/4 cup rice/almond milk
1/3 cup coconut oil
2 tsp gf vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 F. Oil muffin tins (aka cupcake makers) with coconut oil. Whisk together flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in bowl. Purée avocado in a food processor until smooth. Add maple syrup, ricemilk, oil, and vanilla, and blend until creamy. Whisk avocado mixture into flour mixture.

Spoon batter into prepared tins. Bake 25 minutes, or until toothpick inserted into center comes out with some crumbs attached. Cool. Frost with Cashew Creme Frosting.

recipe adapted from: Vegetarian Times September 2008


Actions

Information

5 responses

17 08 2010
Rebecca

Hi,
My name is Rebeecca. I live in L.A.I love your site.
1.Where are you living?the uk?
2.Do you have any other cupcake/cake recipes(red velvet,vanilla,lemon)?
3.Do you do your recipes from scratch?Like the cupcakes?

-THANKS!

21 08 2010
Camille

Hi Rebecca,

I from CT although I’m currently living in Senegal West Africa. I don’t have any other cupcake recipes yet. If you find some, please share. You could always try adapting cupcake recipes from vegan cupcakes take over the world: http://vegancupcakes.wordpress.com/

Almost all of my recipes are taken directly or adapted from recipes I find in cookbooks, on blogs, or passed down through friends. Occasionally I invent my own.

Thanks for reading my blog!

10 12 2011
Lillian

Hey! I’m a college student who just found your blog while looking up recipes for a dinner party. You have no idea how amazing this was to find. None of my friends can eat anything. They’re gluten and soy-free, allergic to dairy, halal, vegetarian: every food sensitivity and restriction in the book. My girlfriend and I made these cupcakes for our friend’s birthday and they were a HUGE hit! Thank you so much for your wonderful blog.

7 07 2013
Becoming the Best Me

My daughter’s first birthday is coming in a few months (8 1/2 months now) and I am starting to look for a birthday cake recipe she can eat with her allergies (milk and peanuts). I also was hoping for a recipe my niece could eat as well since she’s never had a cake that didn’t make her throw up (she’s allergic to milk, eggs, wheat, peanuts and oatmeal upsets her). This recipe looks like a winner. I’ll try this recipe soon to see how it goes. If I love it, I’ll let you know 😀 Thanks for the recipe

7 07 2013
Camille

Yeah, it’s a bit dense (like many gf foods), but I really love it. Also check out Izze B’s (ibcakes.com). I don’t know where you live or if she can ship it to you but I highly recommend it.

Leave a comment