Fall Veggie Burgers

18 10 2014

Hello Everyone! I realize I have been very lax in blogging this year. I love to share recipes I’ve found or created with the world, but sometimes staging the picture and writing it up get in my way and the more I don’t blog, the harder it is to start. Well, this recipe pulled me out of my blog slump.

I was searching yesterday for something new to cook and I stumbled across these Butternut Squash Apple Burgers with Caramelized Onion and Sage Aioli. Yes, they were even better than they sound. So good in fact I woke up early so that I could share my experience with you, my readers. (Click on the names to go to the recipes).

Veggie Burgers with Sweet Onion & Sage Aioli.

Veggie Burgers with Sweet Onion & Sage Aioli.

I made a couple of substitutions to this recipe (based on what I had on hand). My burgers came out a bit wet, so I threw a can of black eyed peas in the food processor and put that paste in the burger mix. I also added about 2 cups of chopped kale I was trying to use up and when it was still too wet I added all purpose gluten free flour until it stuck together.

For the Aoili, I added a clove of garlic, pulsed with the sage in the food processor before adding the onions (I’m pretty lazy and tend to avoid all chopping). I left out the veggie broth and maple syrup. I think my salt came out okay because I had added quite a bit of salt while caramelizing the onions.

Well that’s it! I recommend you give these a try while squash and apples are still in season 🙂

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 10 2014
veggiesdontbite

Thanks so much for posting about the burgers! Glad you liked them! They are definitely a fall favorite of ours!

9 01 2015
John | Margarita Recipe

Yum. This would go well with some avocado on top and a margarita.

Leave a Reply

