Roasted Chickpea Nuts

21 08 2013

This is one of my favorite quick snacks because it is easy to make and kid friendly. You can throw it on the top of most meals or munch on it alone when you need a quick pick-me-up. I found this recipe in The Voluptuous Vegan by Myra Kornfeld and I love it! In fact I never have enough of these, so I usually double or triple the recipe. Just make sure to set the oven timer so you don’t forget and burn them all (I’ve done that too many times).

IMG_0365

Ingredients

1 1/2 Cups of cooked chickpeas

2 Tbsp Vegetable oil (coconut, canola, olive, etc)

1 Tbsp Lemon juice

1 Tbsp minced ginger

Sprinkle of cayenne pepper

Sprinkle of salt

 

Pre-heat the oven to 375. Mix the ingredients in a bowl and pour onto a baking pan (with parchment paper if you want an easier clean-up). Cook for about 45 minutes until the chickpeas are golden brown, small, and crunchy. Stir occasionally in the process to prevent burning. Serve hot or pack away for later.

Actions

Information

6 responses

21 08 2013
MaryJo

Yum! I am going to make this tonight! Thanks!

23 08 2013
NPO

Just made this and this is awesome. I doubled the cayenne pepper and ginger for extra kick.

23 08 2013
2013-08-23 Fabulous Friday Finds | surviving the food allergy apocalypse

[…] weird gluten-free snack foods I buy at the Ocean State Job Lots. I’ve not made, but have had, roasted crunchy chickpeas before. They are fantastic as a crunchy topping for salads or stews, but also pretty good just for […]

25 08 2013
Vegetable Teriyaki Stir-Fry | Riverbank Farm

[…] more for lunch the next day! I didn’t have cashews at the time, so instead of cashews I used Roasted Chickpea Nuts and I think they tasted even better than cashews. I also don’t eat tofu so I just left that […]

25 08 2013
Vegan Teriyaki Stir-Fry | Gluten Free, Soy Free, Vegan

[…] we had more for lunch the next day! I didn’t have cashews at the time, so instead I used Roasted Chickpea Nuts and I think they tasted even better. Lacking a good substitute for tofu I just left that part out, […]

22 10 2013
losingit2013blog

This looks great! Can’t wait to make it:)

Leave a Reply

