Gnocchi

10 10 2009

Once you have gnocchi you will always crave more – or at least that’s how I felt as soon as I tried it a couple of years ago while studying abroad in Australia.  In fact, my all time favorite meal out happened at a fancy restaurant our last night in Oz.  I ate the most decadent melt in your mouth sweet potato gnocchi pie for dinner followed by chai for dessert.  *sigh*.

Not knowing how to replicate that I felt I should at least take a stab at making some regular gnocchi.  While my natural food store does sell frozen gluten free gnocchi, alas, it is not vegan.  So off to the kitchen…

I found this recipe here: Italy Mag UK and read Cupcake Kitteh’s blog for tips on how to pull it off.  I loved how this came out!  So did my little sister (a gnocchi convert now;)  The two of us spent a whole afternoon rolling gnocchi.  She even made a little limoncello for the occasion. Photo credit on this post to my sister: Tessa Bevans.

7232_1139432761215_1089270040_30424508_4451247_n7232_1139433161225_1089270040_30424509_6303767_n

Ingredients:

1 lb potatoes, peeled

1 tsp ground chia seeds with 2 tbsp of water

1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum

2 tbsp chickpea flour

2 tbsp potato starch

Salt to taste

Bake the potatoes in the oven (if you boil or steam them the gnocchi might get a bit mushy).  Let whisk chia seeds with water and let sit for 10 minutes, whisk again right before adding.

Mash the potatoes and add the rest of the ingredients.  Mash/stir until smooth (lumps make the gnocchi taste more like hash browns).  Break off bits of dough and form small balls.  Then press down lightly with a fork for texture.  Alternately, use your thumb to form a small dimple in the dough.  Or, make up your own gnocchi style!  Then fry in oil and add topping.  Tastes great with marinara or pesto. Or check out this gnocchi post from VeganYumYum for more topping ideas.

Note: gnocchi is normally made by forming a small ball, then rolling the dough out and cutting every inch or half inch to form basic shape.  I had trouble getting my dough to stay together so I didn’t attempt this, but perhaps with egg replacer this would be possible, and certainly would save time.

Actions

Information

6 responses

1 11 2009
Courtney

This recipe looks great! I JUST found out yesterday that I am intollerant to wheat/gluten, soy, and dairy. I have been a vegetarian my whole life. I am looking through these recipes on this blog, and they all look awesome, but I have never cooked like this before. Do you have any advice for a brand new gluten free diary free meat free soy free chef?

16 11 2009
Lucy Gabrielle

This website is just wonderful!! I have been gluten free for 18 years and soy makes me vomit. I find it so hard to find food that is gluten free, soy free and vegetarian and I just get bored and disenchanted. What a refreshing site. Thank you!!

13 12 2009
Nancy - The Sensitive Pantry

I am so thrilled to find a gluten-free gnodchi recipe with no eggs! I will be trying this for sure. Thank you!

23 03 2010
Mandee

Hello! I’m glad you liked the recipe, I was so excited when I found it and realised it worked. You’ve reminded me that I should make gnocchi again!

16 10 2010
Pourquoi consommer du gluten ? « Végébon

[…] Free, Soy Free, Vegan : des recettes végétaliennes sans gluten et sans soja. Leur recette de gnocchi me fait très envie […]

5 08 2013
Cyril

I simply couldn’t go away your website prior to suggesting that I extremely loved the standard information an individual provide in your visitors? Is gonna be back continuously to inspect new posts

Leave a Reply

