Chocolate Chip Cookies

26 05 2008

I made a few adaptions to the chocolate chip cookies in Veganomicon (if you don’t already own this book you should, it is my absolute favorite cookbook). I loved their original recipe, but found that with reducing the oil and changing the type of sugar I could have a thicker, less lacy cookie.

I find these to be very tasty. Out of the oven they are soft and thick, but sadly they become hard as crackers after about half an hour. Some of my readers did not have this problem so I need to experiment a bit more to figure out what is going on.

cookies1

1 3/4 c gluten free oat flour
1/2 tsp b. soda
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 c turbinado sugar
1/4 c. canola oil
1 tblsp ground flaxseeds
1/4 c. rice milk
1 tsp vanilla
shredded coconut
pinch of nutmeg
cinnamon to taste
3/4 c. chocolate chips (make sure soy-free)

Preheat oven to 375. Sift flour, baking soda, and salt. In another bowl, whisk flaxseeds & milk. Add the sugar and stir. Then add oil and vanilla and “whisk vigorously until all ingredients are emulsified.” Mix wet & dry ingredients together, then fold in chocolate chips, coconut, nutmeg, and cinnamon. Drop by tablespoon onto a baking sheet. Bake 5-10 minutes. Let cool for 5 minutes before transferring to rack.

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 06 2009
dreamin'itvegan

I noticed when I let the batter sit out for a few hours before I put them into the oven the cookie came out perfect. Crisp on the outside, more chewy on the inside.

4 01 2010
obsoletepostergirl

These came out perfect! I used the recommended reduction in oil and used hemp milk instead of rice. They were soft and chewy and delicious!

Leave a Reply

